So, today’s post will be a rather brief one, but if like me you are feeling less than stellar, this might make you feel a smidge better.

I’m sure if you’ve ever had a cold you’ve promptly been nagged to “drink lots of orange juice,” and while I don’t necessarily buy into that, fresh-squeezed orange juice is something I love in general, so why not?

Anyway, insanely long sentences aside, I subsist on warm beverages when I’m sick/miserable/all of the above, so here’s the (super simple) recipe for my pick-me-up drink of choice(aside from tea):

Orange spice(forgive the less-than-stellar picture)

  • Juice from 1 orange(I know you might want to cop out and use boxed, but it’s so full of added sugar and bunk that it accomplishes hardly anything)
  • Two curls of orange zest
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pinch of cloves
  • 1 tsp honey

Now just throw it all into a small pot and let simmer for 5-10 minutes, and pour into a nice mug and enjoy. Feel better!

(If you’re feeling especially blah, I like to draw a bath while I let it simmer, then drink while in the tub)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

